Interview With TEDX Speaker and THREAD MB Founder, Laura J. Wellington

There’s a saying, “I don’t look like what I’ve been through.” Laura J. Wellington is a leading example of this. At 35, she lost her husband to cancer. She was left to raise their children on her own. While some may fall victim to their circumstances, Wellington chose to persevere and be resilient. “It shows in my entire life. It is how I survived what I did and lived to tell about it through this book. (Be Careful What You Wish For). It shows in my continued happiness,” she states. 

Laura J. Wellington is an author with books focused on women and children. She’s a TEDx Speaker, an award-winning children’s television creator, a serial entrepreneur in technology and entertainment, and founder of celebrity-lifestyle blog THREAD MB

Wellington has won several awards, including The Forbes Enterprise Award, The Buzz Award, and The Dove Foundation Award. However, the most crucial prize she’s won has to be being a mom to five children. 

Morgan Lee Reviews had the pleasure of interviewing Wellington. She discussed the inspiration behind her newest book, Be Careful What You Wish For, memorable advice given to her as an author and writer, and advice she has for aspiring authors. 

MLR: What inspired you to write Be Careful What You Wish For and the Jasper’s Giant Imagination series?

LJW: My love for the “good story” and how it can impact, motivate, and touch the hearts of others. 

MLR: Are there plans to write any more books?

LJW: Yes, there is an upcoming sequel to Be Careful What You Wish For in the works.

Along with being an author, in 2018, Wellington did a Tedx titled What’s She Got That I Don’t. She talks about a key component in relationships. Knowing who you are and being confident in that is essential because if you don’t, how do you expect to provide your partner with what he or she may need and vice versa?

MLR: With everything you’ve accomplished, what is one of your proudest moments? What is one of your non-glorious moments, and was there a lesson you learned in either of these?

LJW: One of my proudest moments was watching my oldest son graduate medical school. I felt like “my whole life was worth it.” One of my less than stellar moments was when I threw a chair in response to stress. I realized that I was human then forgave myself. You will find that incident in the book. The lesson that I learned is that “you have to take the good with the bad, including in oneself.”

MLR: Speaking of taking the good with the bad, what advice would you give to aspiring authors?

LJW: Don’t be frightened to expose yourself in your writing. The craft demands it of you.

MLR: What is some memorable advice you’ve been given as an author and writer?

LJW: “When the going gets tough, the tough get going.” In other words, show courage in your work.”

And that’s what she continues to do. Above all else, she considers herself to be a “hands-on parent” because, as she states, “If you fail with your kids, what good is the rest?” Wellington later remarried and became a licensed foster parent. When asked what she wants people to take away from this interview she says she wants people to see more of her in the book, and hopes that in understanding her better, people will understand the main character, Evie. “I am enjoying meeting so many new and wonderful people through this book, including you. That is one of the benefits of doing what I do. I get to meet a ton of great people along the way.”

Morgan Lee Reviews would like to Thank Laura J. Wellington for partaking in this interview. Visit laurajwellington.com to learn more about her, and Be Careful What You Wish For is available everywhere books are sold.   

Leave a comment