Our Stop Review

Synopsis: All anyone wants is to make a connection. Nadia gets on the 7:30 train every morning without fail. Well, except if she oversleeps or wakes up at her friend Emma’s after too much wine. Daniel does get the 7:30 train every morning, which is easy because he hasn’t been able to sleep properly since his dad died. 

One morning, Nadia catches sight of a post in the matchmaker section of the daily paper: To the cute girl with the coffee stains on her dress, I’m the guy who’s always standing near the doors. Drink sometime? So begins a not-quite-romance of near misses, true love, and the power of the written word. 

My thoughts: Laura Jane Williams’ Our Stop had an intriguing synopsis, which is why I chose to read and review it. But as I got into it, I found myself picking it up and putting it back down. The beginning of the story captivated me. It fell a bit flat in the middle and then picked back up again at the end. 

Our Stop turned out to be your typical love story that we’ve all heard or read before. It reminded me of 2001’s On The Line in some ways. Each character had their place and purpose, and the love story itself was nice. I even wondered what if this happened to me? The back and forth of almost meeting each other, then missing each other seemed to drag on a bit too long for me, however.

If you are into romantic novels that will have you wondering if he gets the girl, then this book is for you. There are funny and sweet moments throughout the book, and it’s filled with a nice little twist that I didn’t see coming between Nadia and two of her friends. Side note: I noticed the author used the word bloke a lot, which I’d heard before, but I wasn’t sure its meaning, so I looked it up. Other than that, this book served its purpose. 

Our Stop is available everywhere books are sold. 

Leave a comment