Just As I Am Review

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about the wonderful and talented Ms. Cicely Tyson? Like myself, most of the world knows her through her work as an actress, and then others know her personally because in some way, be it a conversation or words of wisdom, she’s impacted their lives for the better. And while I may not have known Ms. Cicely Tyson personally, I am grateful to have had the opportunity to learn about who she was as a person through her book Just As I Am



Just As I Am was filled with so much richness, rawness, and comedic moments. A lot of what I read enlightened me and made me appreciate Ms. Tyson’s work as an actress, but more importantly, as a human being. Nothing was off-limits within this book. I had no idea she had a daughter or that she was married to jazz musician Miles Davis. I had no idea that she was a model and that this tiny statured woman had the strength of a lion and one of the purest and welcoming souls. 

A lot of the time, with celebrities, all individuals who are not within that world see is the “celebrity.” We don’t get the opportunity to see the person for who they are, and that’s a human being. Ms. Cicely Tyson invited readers into her world and shared all that she had learned over the years. Her introduction into acting, her family upbringing, the simple things that brought her joy. The people she met, the honor/recognition she received, down to the lasting friendships she made.

It’s evident that Ms. Tyson enjoyed and appreciated life. She took nothing for granted, and she was highly aware and often spoke about the injustices that many people of color face. She understood her purpose, and she used it to impact so many people. Her book, Just As I Am, is a part of her legacy. It’s her story in her words. She’s transparent, and her honesty is both informative and valued. 

I would encourage readers who like memoirs, are fond of Ms. Cicely Tyson, or readers who are looking for a change of pace in your pile of books to add Just As I Am to your list! You will not be disappointed! I had no idea that Ms. Tyson had written her story until another book reviewer mentioned her book. I was looking to change up my reading pile, and I debated whether to purchase her book. I can honestly say I made the right decision. 

Just As I Am is available everywhere books are sold. 

Leave a comment