She’s Definitely a Vibe: Erotica Queen, India T. Norfleet Talks Books, Advice For Aspiring Authors, Plus More

“Never give up. If you love what you do, never give up.” – Author, India T. Norfleet

Becoming a published author isn’t easy. It takes time, effort, and having a passion so deeply rooted for your story to get told that you’re willing to sacrifice it all to see your dream come to fruition. You endure the self-doubt, the constant rejection, the moments of wanting to quit, all for the moment you’re able to hold your book in your hands. It’s at that moment you realize that everything you’ve endured was well worth it.

India T. Norfleet is an example of precisely this. Author of 53 books, 49 of them published, she was willing to do what she had to do and release that inner voice encouraging her to write. More importantly, write stories about, as she puts it, “people who reflected my skin color. I loved it so much; I wanted to try my hand at it.” She states further, “reading inspired me. I’ve always been a reader since childhood. I kept my nose in a book growing up.” She says reading became an escape for her, and though excited about the possibility of becoming an author, she wondered if she could do it and wondered if people would like what she had to say. She continues, “after years of fear, I decided to step out on faith, sit down and write my first book, which was titled, “Playing For Keeps.” She says it took her almost two years to write and publish the book, and that it was well worth it because it became a bestseller.

I first discovered Norfleet’s books on Amazon. I’d had my fair share of mystery and thrillers, so I decided to explore another genre, a different author. Her characters and narrative are why I gravitated to her books. They are two key components to every story, especially if you want your book to resonate with your audience. So, how does Norfleet determine the representation of her characters within her books? Simple. She listens.”It may seem weird, but I decide by listening to my heart and emotions. And sometimes by people close to me. The stories are always tucked away in between the two.”

“I just wanted to write about love with some very satisfying sex mixed in.”

Few authors know what they’re going to write about once they begin writing, not to mention the genre or specific audience they’re catering to once their book is complete. And Norfleet could relate. She grins but not before covering it with her hand. “It wasn’t until I kept getting feedback about my sex scenes that I began to pump up and give more details to my sex scenes and market myself as an erotica author. I absolutely love it.” Even though she markets herself as an erotica author, she says her books are a part of other genres like mystery, suspense, and thrillers.

When asked if she’s working on new material, she says she is but could not divulge what her new book would be about. However, she did mention that she would like to explore other genres like teen romance or self-help books. Moreover, she offered advice for aspiring authors stating, “never give up. It’s going to be one hell of a ride, but if you take the Lord with you every step of the way, you’re going to be amazed at the sheer beauty of your outcome.”

These days Norfleet can reap the rewards from her hard work. But she makes note that it wasn’t without struggles and heartache. “Just thinking about the pain I’ve endured as a result of being in this industry used to leave me heartbroken, but now, I can smile because I survived and overcame the hurdles. I did a lot of praying because it was just one mess after another. It was a lot, and I’m so grateful the Lord brought me out of the darkness.”

When she’s not writing her next novel, you can find Norfleet spending time with her husband and kids or drinking a glass of wine.

“I’m a vibe—a magical black woman with a 90’s R&B heart.”

If you would like to learn more about India T. Norfleet or purchase her books, visit: haveyouhadthepleasure.net, Amazon, or Google. “I want those reading to be excited about learning more about my work. Be hopeful of your aspirations and dreams. Maintain the strength to keep going after what you love. Stay prayerful and thankful through the good times and the bad. Always remember that God’s always got your back. And thank you to my readers. I love my readers. They’re so amazing. They keep me encouraged and motivated.”

Morgan Lee Reviews would like to thank India T. Norfleet for this interview.

One thought on “She’s Definitely a Vibe: Erotica Queen, India T. Norfleet Talks Books, Advice For Aspiring Authors, Plus More

  1. I adore her, I’ve never met her in person, but just to see her interactions with her followers and readers including me lmao! It makes me appreciate her even more. She’s definitely a whole vibe, and she seems like the home girl type; having grown women conversations and having wine while talking about whatever may comes to mind. She’s beautiful as always, encouraging and a go getter. Thank you, India!!!! You are everything and everything to us women who always wanted yo give up. Thank you for saying; Never Give Up, Never Give Up! I won’t give up what I love to do, and that’s writing. Peace, Love and Blessing Ms. India

    Like

Leave a comment