Meet Author Leo James

Last year, I had the opportunity to read and review first-time author Leo James’ book Layers of Deception, and while it wasn’t my speed, I appreciated his drive and willingness to share his story with others. In that time of reading his work, what I found was an interesting story of how Layers of Deception came to be, and so I reached out to Mr. James and asked him if he would be willing to let me interview him and share his story not only of his book but of how he sees himself and ultimately what he wants people to take away from this interview.

Morgan Lee: Who is Leo James?

Leo James: Born in the UK, I worked for over 25 years in the technology sector – mainly internet security and fraud detection. My career has brought me to Asia, Europe, and the US. I now live in the UK with my wife Deb and my dog Marley.

ML: Share with readers what inspired your first book Layers of Deception?

LJ: I began writing during my recovery from a serious fall into a storm drain whilst on business in Singapore. Stuck in hospital, I found it cathartic to write. It helped with my recovery, both mentally and physically.  That was the start. Once back to work, and traveling internationally, I would write everywhere: on planes, trains, staying at hotels, at any given opportunity. I still love Singapore, and it’s funny looking back.

The times when I perceived that I was at very low ebbs were the times when the plot developed the most. Indeed, I started writing about situations I experienced over the years and the plot emerged from that. I’ve been surprised, amused, horrified and amazed how the plot developed for my book.

ML: Do you plan to write more books and if so, what will they be about?

LJ: Yes. I’m working on a sequel to Layers of Deception where a child is kidnapped by Malaysian triads as a means to extort funds from a UK business based in Kuala Lumpur. Then there’s my other novel, a thriller based on my fall in Singapore.  To this day, I have not solved the mystery of who pushed me! Lastly, I am working on a thriller set in Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia about a Malaysian family who illegally buys a Vietnamese child –  a boy. The boy thrives in his new loving family unit. But his life and all those around him are about to be devastated when his real mother, who has married a rich American businessman – wants him back.

ML: Aside from being an author, what other work are you involved with?

LJ: In 2011, I decided to move away from technology to become a practicing therapist in clinical hypnosis and cognitive behaviour therapy, specializing in anxiety, phobias, and trauma. I gained a postgraduate qualification in behavioural therapy from the University of West London in the UK.

ML: You have a lot going on. With everything you’ve decided to take on, how would you describe yourself?

Author, Leo James

LJ: Passionate. I’m absolutely passionate about many things but in particular my writing. I absolutely love it!

ML: What do you want people to take away from this interview and is there anything else you’d like to add?

LJ: I’d love to hear what people think of Layers of Deception. I’ve tried to bring as much of my experiences to the thriller – I hope to spark the reader’s emotions throughout the story – from hope, despair, fear, suspense, disappointment, grief, and apprehension. And I would like to thank you, Morgan. It’s much appreciated, and if anyone wants to keep in touch, my web site is http://layersofdeception.info/

Layers of Deception is available on Amazon for purchase. A big thank you to Leo James for taking the time to have this interview with me.

Leave a comment